The Five Koshas or Layers of Body You Might Not Be Knowing

For better health, happiness, and well being; yoga is essential. Yoga brings metaphysical changes in life. It brings a sense of satisfaction to the body with the practice of a few different postures of Ashtanga Yoga, Vinyasa Yoga, hatha yoga, yin yoga, Nidra and more. However, it’s more than addressing the physical body. Yoga ascertains five different layers of body or five different layers of inner self for the overall healing of the body and mind. It is known as Koshas, meaning sheaths or layers!

Every one of us embraces five different layers, one encased by others. Each layer is made of finer grades of energy. If you intend to live happily, healthy life; all of the koshas needs to be kept in condition. While taking care of our physical body, we mostly forget to take care of your inner self. Kosha teaching is all based upon giving you some information about how to take care of your inner body layer. Let’s have a quick look through the five different koshas of the human body –

Yoga Teacher Training Course

Annamaya Kosha – The Physical Layer

This is the first and outermost layer. It comprises of the physical body, the organs, bones, muscle tissue, and skin. Annamaya Kosha in yoga is a summation of two words anna means food or physical matter, and Maya means made of. You can experience directly without going into any meditative position.

Pranamaya Kosha – The Energetic Layer

This is the second layer consisting of subtle body energy or the elements that cannot be seen with naked eyes. Pranamaya Kosha is formed from word prana, which means the vital principle, the force that vitalizes and holds together the body and mind. It can be perceived through inner channels called Nadis.

Manomaya Kosha – The Mental or Emotional Layer

This is the third sheath of the human body. It is like an apparatus responsible for our sensory and motor activities in our day-to-day awareness. Manomaya Kosha controls the nervous system and keeps us calm.

Vijñānmāyā kosha – The Intuitive or Wisdom Layer

This is the fourth layer; it comprises our wisdom and intuitions. Beneath the constant layer of thoughts and feelings, we all have a sheath called Vijñānmāyā kosha. It guides in inner knowings and higher intelligence in your body.

Anandamaya Kosha – The Bliss Layer

This is the fifth and deepest layer that forms the core of our existence. Anandamaya Kosha is formed from Ananda which means bliss. When you are in Yog Nidra, your mind and senses stop functioning, and your consciousness expands beyond the limit of the body. You will experience a sense of peace and connectedness to your inner self. It is known as Anandamaya Kosha, unbounded freedom of your true nature.

Connection with all these five koshas is an amazing experience. You too can achieve it. Not without the help of correct information or a mentor to guide you through the process. Join the Yoga teacher training course at Rishikesh Vinyasa Yoga School. Here seasoned trainers will help you get a glimpse of the inner you!!!

You might love to read – Yog Nidra or Yogic Sleep – An Art of Awakening Your Inner Self

Leave a Comment


Contact info

Address: Village Ghughtayni Talli, Ward No-5, Upper Tapovan, Off Badrinath Road, Rishikesh, Uttarakhand 249192

Phone: +91-995 867 2399



Monday – Saturday: 9 AM to 8 PM

Sunday: 10 AM to 3 PM

Reach Us

How to Reach Us?

BY FLIGHT: The nearest airport from Rishikesh is Jolly Grant airport on route to Dehradun, 18 kilometres from here. Indian airlines connect Dehradun to Delhi, some chartered planes also operate from here.

BY ROADS: To commute within Rishikesh there are tongas, taxis and rickshaws available. Whereas from other cities and states buses are operated by state transport corporations and private operators (deluxe, semi deluxe coaches) are available for Rishikesh. Apart from that one can also hire private vehicles to get there.